The Masks of Jack Loki

My idea for this year’s Halloween post occurred to me late. I intended to observe the holiday with the last post about the Poe series, yesterday’s Poppy Garden post, and an upcoming marigold-themed panel for the Day of the Dead on November 2nd. The realization that I could make a retrospective of the many masquerades of Jack Loki, professional gallywagger, crackerjack bryologist, and erstwhile protagonist of Geranium Lake Properties, came to me last night. This also gives me a chance to share the above GLP comic, something I meant to do way back in June, for Hood and Mitre Day. Which is a day that gives you the opportunity for the recherché joy of donning your best hood or wimple, putting on your most ornamental mitre, and pretending you are the Pope of the Sacrum Romanum Imperium.

And then for Halloween, you can be the Antipope, and you won’t need to get yourself a new costume.

The Jackalope Mask
Still life with jackalope
The Jackalope’s Smile
Vouchsafe radium unto the lilacs
Jackalope totem
Spoken under the aegis

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.