Night and Day

I previously posted this coloring page at the beginning of summer; I am posting it again here because I found the corresponding GLP comic in the archives.

I am now able to tell you that this mask by Alice Aroumbeyski is a portrait of the demmalyun Yemjeyjey-ollu-Zoyozaya, who is often depicted as Night and Day, also identified as Cognition and Perception. I have come across a few arguments that Yemjeyjey-ollu-Zoyozaya is comparable to Thoth, based on their relationships to practitioners of magic. For me, the arguments are not convincing. The Inultaru godling may be an accomplished magician, but he is simply not inhabited with anything like the grand cosmic presence of the Egyptian deity. He is daintier than Thoth, and is a bit of a dandy, and is skilled at Appearances and Disappearances (Illusions and Invisibilities).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.