In the spring a young man’s fancy lightly turns to thoughts of knives, bats and clubs

glp522
© 2016 Lin Tarczynski

Some GLP panels are more me than Yost (it is probably more accurate to say “many” instead of “some”, but figuring out where Yost ends and I begin is not all that important to me). I would claim this one is more me, except I have no idea what it is about. So maybe it is more Yost, but at least I can tell you where the title comes from. After I finished today’s panel, when I was trying to figure out what it meant (at least for me), I had a thought that maybe it came from this page about writing poetry. I could try to explain why I thought today’s panel was the result of a subconscious motive to “enact spring”, but I suspect an explanation is not necessary. Besides, all I have is a whisper from the universe, and a few dubious clues, and I possibly did not “get” the concept of enacting spring. The title, however, did arise from the words “enact spring”. I found it in my usual tried-and-true ways of contacting the universe through the internet.

4 thoughts on “In the spring a young man’s fancy lightly turns to thoughts of knives, bats and clubs

  1. The gauzy textures on this panel make me feel more Autumnal than Springlike, kind of being enveloped in a dense and swirling mist… maybe even a snowstorm. I really like the granular detail you’ve captured here, this is another panel I’d like to run my fingers over. All the best as ever Lin x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Thanks. I do love grainy shades of gray. Mist here comes in all seasons, the result of warm hills and cold ocean I suppose. This panel makes me think of misty-eyed emotions, tender emotions, as tender as the new leaves of Spring. The “knives, bats and clubs” part was a direct message from the universe. I think the universe was making a rather pointed joke.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Finding significance in the failure of words | Vraicking

  3. Pingback: Finding significance in the failure of words | Vraicking

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.