Geranium Lake Properties, an elf is nobody’s minion

glp508
© lcmt 2015

On the back of this drawing, Yost wrote:

[indecipherable scribble] from Santa’s workshop?????
moon pi
check phone mess
Boccherini Symphony in C Mjr

During this holiday season, a lot of Christmas iconography has insisted on emerging in my work. For those of you who feel inundated by the excesses of this holiday, I hope I am not adding too much to the overload. I have found that I now enjoy Christmas more if I keep my holiday obligations to a minimum. I am lucky to have childhood memories of magical Christmases, and even though I no longer retain my childish beliefs, I can still enjoy the traditions of an American Christmas with all the trimmings.

I was raised Catholic, but none of my Christian indoctrination was strict. When I was in high school I started to consider agnosticism as a reasonable attitude for perceiving the universe. Later in life, I made a good stab at being atheist, but gave that up as an unnecessary endeavor. Also, atheism is rather detrimental to the mythopoeic foundations of my art. I now approach all religions and gods as mythologies, but that does not mean they are not real. In fact, the issue of whether they are real or unreal is not an issue for me, because I recognize that everything that you and I perceive as real is an illusion. I have received this understanding in part from Buddhism, and I have had it confirmed from science.

(I suspect this explanation was unnecessary, but I hope that it was not completely devoid of interest.)

5 thoughts on “Geranium Lake Properties, an elf is nobody’s minion

    • Thanks for the kind words! I am thinking about writing more about myself and my art in the coming year. I am even thinking about making that a New Year’s resolution, even though most years I feel anti-resolution on New Year’s Day.

      Like

      Reply
    • As a child, I was addicted to mysteries where the detective worshiped at the altar of logic. Characters like Sherlock Holmes and Ellery Queen. I credit (or blame) them for giving me my desire for a rational universe. (I also envied their talents for close observation, which is a useful ability for an artist.)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

