Geranium Lake Properties, “The Deadly Tendrils of Bairg Lungdo”

glp473
© lcmt 2015

I’m pretty sure this is another part of The Secret of Watchstone Rim.

Asemic comics are published here three times a week, on Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday. Except for last Tuesday. I know I’ve been saying that a lot lately. My schedule at work has been changing every week. That’s only a minor disruption, but it does mean I have a little less time to sulk in my cave. Which is necessary for my creative process. So last Tuesday I caught up on my sulking.

This morning, I could have posted this:

webu4ff

But no, I had to fuss around with it some more. This afternoon, I could have posted this:

glp474

But no, I had to mess with the color a bit, until, after several hours (in which I also went to the drugstore, and talked to my sister on the phone for at least an hour) I finally arrived at the top image.

4 thoughts on “Geranium Lake Properties, “The Deadly Tendrils of Bairg Lungdo”

  1. Great work as ever Lin, thank goodness you decided to mess around with your initial piece as the finished panel is quite something – looks like a solar hurricane raging above a verdant, alien planet. All the best x

    Reply
  2. Busy, busy, busy! Mostly I like the lettering, but the colour reduction was probably a good idea. I miss the red in the final version though: possibly feeling something more deadly about colours in the red/violet range? (How predictable!)

    Reply
    • The lettering is what I call my natural asemic hand. When I sit down with a piece of paper and a felt pen, and start writing asemically, that’s the result. I had a tough time picking my final choice from the variations for this panel, so I thought, in this case, I would show everybody the alternatives. I almost picked the one with the red. But now, each time I look at them, I become more convinced that the one with the “green planet” (as my friend Lee called it) is the final draft.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

